Dai Fujikura – Ice : Great or fake ?

Dai Fujikura - ice - Kayros
Dai Fujikura – Ice – Kayros

Dai Fujikura – Ice

A globalized CD: a Japanese composer based in London, an American contemporary music ensemble (ICE: International Contemporary Ensemble) and an Austrian Publisher. 6 works:

  1. Sparks (2011) for guitar – 1’25
  2. ice (2009-10) for whole – 21’17
  3. Phantom Splinter (2009) for ensemble and electronics in real time – 23:53
  4. Abandoned time (2004-06) for electric guitar and ensemble – 8’57
  5. I dreamed on singing flowers (2012) electronic registered – 4’22
  6. Sparking Orbit (2013) for electric guitar and electronic real-time – 17’18

Rare reaction of my daughter when I get the opportunity to put contemporary music on the stereo: “it’s weird but it’s listenable…” This got me some warning… I publish articles on works that I found interesting or enjoyable – see here – I like very much this composer but found musical inspiration of this CD a bit low. Kairos told me that this CD encounters yet a real success in the USA and UK.

3 pieces for guitar:
1, superb guitar solo, is included in the
6 with electronic processing for more than 17′: the beginning offers of large flat electronic piece rather pleasant, but somewhat conventional. It varies a little from 4’40 with crystalline sounds on guitar, 7’30, the sound of the guitar becomes hoarse, in short a succession of dreamlike passages, with beautiful findings, but it tired a little.
4, despite all the virtuosity of the musicians (and with sounds as strange as with electronics, but more striking), is a bit talkative.
2: “Ice” which gives the title of the album: an instrumentarium “Neapolitan” (mandolins), a piece with a certain internal energy, but I’ve found a lot of redundancies, in short it is rather decorative even if you can appreciate the elegance and originality of the writing, in a kind of “zen” atmosphere that can please.
3: Cantilena succeed in a sophisticated orchestration, but nothing happens.
5: Electronic music: it’s also very nice but it passes without keeping attention. Up to you:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.